A Salad Love Affair

Good moooooooorning, America!!  Ok, but on a serious note these past two days my internal alarm clock has woken me up at 5:00 am and 6:15 am (I think last nights wine allowed me to have that extra hour and fifteen…). Regardless, it gives me time to organize my weekly menu.  As you notice from the title, there is a salad obsession going on.  This most likely stems from my childhood, wherever and whenever we would as a family go out to dinner, I would 99.9% of the time order a salad. If there was a salad buffet…fuuhhgetaboutit…SOLD!!!! I guess my parents never had that dreaded parent v child vegetable stand off (You’re welcome mom and dad).   I also have a slight obsession, I like to call it part of my daily routine, with Pinterest.   I get a ton of ideas and recipes from it, my obsession is justified.  I happened to stumble across this pin with 7 salad recipes.  So I decided this week, I’m channeling my inner child love affair with salads, and ball out on delicious salads.  I’m pumped!!!!

  From the website, I’m using these recipes:  1. Power Salad. 2.  Brusselsprouts salad   3.  Mountain Mama (minus chickpeas). 4.  Spinach quinoa salad with avocado and grapefruit.  5.  Mediterranean salad (not on website).  It involves spinach, feta cheese, diced tomatoes, olives sliced, drizzled with olive oil, oregano, s&p. mix and enjoy.

here is the website..   

 

http://lindawagner.net/blog/2012/12/salad-recipes-for-weight-loss

Sam is not as excited about salads all week. So we will also have some marinated chicken to make him happy.

Also, this salad I’m making as well from a different website…. http://thecozyapron.com/cozy-cameo-dad-n-me-and-italian-chopped-salad-makes-three/
I won’t be having bread or anything with it, just the salad. Her blog with the recipe is so cute, makes me miss my family!!

Xoxo. 🙂

One thought on “A Salad Love Affair

  1. I want to add as far as dressing goes… I use a variety of homemade dressings… Including olive oil, balsamic vinegar, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper, etc. there are a ton of easy, good recipes out there. Right now, I’m really digging just drizzling olive oil over my salad with a pinch of salt and about 3 shakes of oregano. It is really nice to not have an over powering dressing. This olive oil mixture allows for all the flavors of the ingredients to stand out. Experiment and see what dressing works for you!!

Leave a Reply

